Yarn Along and Advent

The Advent season is my favorite time of year and I look forward to selecting a new book to not only carry us through the hustle and bustle of the season but to also keep us focused on the reason we celebrate.


Today I join the Yarn Along crowd to share this year’s new book that I am excited about.  Sally Lloyd-Jones has won multiple awards for The Jesus Storybook Bible and every story whispers His name. It takes the whole Bible to tell the Story beneath all the other stories in the Bible so if you have ever wondered how the Old and New Testaments tie together then this might be a book to add to your 2013 reading list even though it is written for a younger crowd.


I first heard of this book when visiting my daughter last Easter to meet our first grandchild, sweet baby Zoë.  It was her first Easter and my son-in-law pulled out The Jesus Storybook Bible to read the Easter story to her.  They were very excited about this book.  It was a precious moment and one I will always remember.  My son-in-law reads this book to his precious daughter every night and nothing could make me more happy! He said it often brings a tear to their eyes as he reads it and he is right.

I bought my own copy this Christmas for the hubby and I to read around our (rather ancient) Advent candle ring.


I’ve copied a picture from each story onto card stock and hang it on my cork-board after each reading.  We are really enjoying this even though it is just the two of us now that our children are grown.


Knitting?  Well, I’m still busy working on Christmas presents and time is running out.  My husband told me last night to move his socks to the top of the list. Ha! Ha!

I finished The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton and, although well-written, did not enjoy the story until the last hour or so of the book. I generally have no patience for stories of infidelity and I found myself disliking several characters in this book to the degree that I contemplated tossing the whole thing but I stuck it out and I’m glad that I did. In the end I joined cheered as justice prevailed as consequences played out and I joined the multitudes thinking this book an excellent piece of fiction.



Wanting something a bit lighter, I asked for a recommendation from a friend who has similar reading tastes. She had just finished A Winter’s Solstice by Rosamund Pilcher, one of her favorite authors, and was getting ready to re-read it. Re-read? Sounded like the best kind of recommendation. I downloaded it on my Nook and it has been my treadmill reading. What a great book! I want to pack my bags and leave for Scotland this very minute.

One thought on “Yarn Along and Advent

Leave a Reply

